International Information Centre for Balkan Studies

Media: Citizens of Serbia, Montenegro to be allowed entry to EU as of July 1

June 27, 2020

European Union's (EU) external border would reopen for the citizens of Serbia, Montenegro and 12 other countries as of July 1, the ambassadors of the Permanent Representatives Committee (EU COREPER) agreed in Brussels on Friday, French media reported.

According to Le Monde daily, the ambassadors reached the decision after a lengthy discussion and also determined a number of measures for further procedure, considering the anti-pandemic measures and the degree of the pandemic in third countries.

The full list of countries whose citizens will be allowed to travel to the Union is expected to be confirmed on Saturday and finally approved on Monday in the qualified majority, without a veto option.

The daily also explains that the list won't be mandatory as the border management is under the jurisdiction of the member states.

According to the same source, there was no consent among the ambassador to allow the entry for the citizens of the USA, Russia, Israel, Turkey and Saudi Arabia, as the situation with the coronavirus pandemic in those countries was assessed as more serious than in Europe.

Source:   http://rs.n1info.com/English/NEWS/a614130/Media-Citizens-of-Serbia-Montenegro-to-be-allowed-entry-to-EU-as-of-July-1.html

isn eth zurichBSAdsNATOCentral and Eastern European Online LibraryEurActiv | European Union Information Website